Hair dye the dangers

Todays topic is diverted away from fashion to highlight the serious effects of hair dye causing an allergic reaction. Unfortunately this is a subject close to home. I feel the more stories about this subject arising in the newspapers the more I felt I wanted to explain my horrors with hair dye resulting in a terrible allergic reaction.I saw this article in the Brighton Argus on Wednesday the 9th of November featured at the bottom of this post,it brought back my own nightmare with hair dye. 

It was around this time last year I decided to dye my hair a lighter shade of brown.I felt like a slight change of image for the christmas.I followed the instruction on the pack, did the 48 hour hair dye test it seemed fine and then I died my hair on the monday and on Tuesday afternoon I noticed my scalp was dry and itchy. I had just thought the dye just dried it out.By the evening I had small lumps on the back of my neck and was concerned but thought they would disappear. I woke up the next day horrified at the sight of my face it was very swollen. I went straight to the doctors and they said it was an allergic reaction to the hair dye. Later that day My forehead was so swollen I looked like an extra of star trek, Jokes aside this was very serious. I ended up in the hospital that night, I had to be injected with steroids and antihistamines, I thought I had remained calm but I had to have a drip to slow my heart rate down as it was so high from the panick of the situation.

I thought I was out of the danger zone and got to go home. so I relaxed at home watching t.v. for the rest of the day, but the swelling became worse on the left side of my face and my eye started to close up, I could hardly see out of my left eye.I was unrecognizable to my family at this point. I got really scared by this point and thought best to go straight to the hospital. I remember sitting in the waiting area at the hospital, I was felt frightened and upset but was trying not to show it. I saw the doctor and again was pumped full of steroids and antihistamines . For weeks after I didn’t want to go out because of my face, My ear had blistered which was susceptible to infection at that point,but luckily didn’t.Christmas was coming up my swelling had gone down thankfully, but unfortunately I had to remain on steroids through to new years,and wasn’t able to have a christmas tipple and enjoy the festivities.But thankfully I was on the road to recovery.

 I have no intention to scare anyone, I just want to alert people to how dangerous hair dye can be. this was a permanent dye I had used.In the past I had used semi permanent dyes  for years and years and had never had a problem before. I urge people to do a hair dye test and leave it for days over 4 days to a week , My reaction was delayed so a 48 hours hair test couldn’t have detected this reaction would happen. If you can,  go to a salon if you can afford it or save up. Because they are professionals in salons ,they can give you expert advice on colouring. So please be carefull with hair dye and do the tests and give it time more than they recommend on the pack. I have never been allergic to anything in my life and I reacted, it has put me of dying my hair ever  again and whenever I hear hair dye mentioned my had feels itchy. So do be extra carefull if you are dying your hair.Below is the article on the poor girl who suffered the same allergic reaction,as you can see it is so scary whatever age you are.

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cassandra
    Nov 13, 2012 @ 23:47:46

    I had the same thing happen to me when i used hair dye

    Reply

    • Gina Slater
      Dec 02, 2012 @ 12:13:24

      I’m sorry to hear that, it is a very traumatic experience. Are you okay now?. I still don’t want to dye my hair ever again it’s put me of. Also the gp I saw wasn’t helpful at all that made things worse.

      Reply

  2. gin
    May 09, 2013 @ 18:55:06

    so sorry to hear of your reaction. i’m had a reaction to hair dye last month and believe am still reacting to it. I’ve been scouring the internet for people writing about reactions to hair dye and am horrified. i think it’s important to bring awareness to the public about the potential risks associated with these chemicals. I think a lot of women have minor irritation and symptoms but don’t realize the severity of what the next exposure to these chemicals in dye may bring to them. I’m in the US but have read about the deaths of Tabatha McCourt and Julie McCabe. So tragic.
    I did find a good forum for women allergic to PPD, where they discuss alternatives dyes. I figure there is strength in numbers to bring attention to these toxins. good luck. http://www.network54.com/forum/603111/ or google network 54 PPD

    Reply

Leave a Reply

