Prints of a different kind

I have such an addiction to print that I must show prints that are inspiring. I admire old-fashioned hand drawn costume illustrators such as Baskt the works of such illustrators shows a use of lines that are free linear lines which can’t always be produced by a tablet. I find collage the most expressive form of print it stands out to the viewer, I produced this collage below while I was at college I use to be fixated on designers I still am. It is amazing how these designer brands such as D&G, Dkny, Jean Paul Gautier can be recognised without even knowing much about the designers. Their logos are recognised worldwide. This retro print is sourced from my mother’s archives of prints I love 70’s psychedelic swirly prints. This print is very cute and would suit a children’s nursery on one of the walls. I adore this vibrant floral design with the tiger and the lily flower just makes the print that bit more intriguing. I thought I would include a random print of my stereo design underneath Bruce Lee’s hand after all Bruce’s print is known all over the world. 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. styleonthecouch
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 00:47:42

    During the end of year sales in New York I found myself drawn to lots of prints, but those that were illustrated, like you just stepped out of a painting. I’m not usually one for these designs on my clothing, but I think I could get used to it!

    http://www.styleonthecouch.com

    Reply

  2. Gina Slater
    Jan 22, 2012 @ 21:25:16

    I know what you mean there is such bold prints around at the moment especially for spring/summer. I admire bold prints, I’ve allways wanted to wear a huge print across a skirt but haven’t dared yet to!.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

