International women’s day

If ever there was a day to celebrate being a woman then today is the day for it, being that it’s international women’s day . There may be debates about women not being seen as equals to men, but it isn’t 100% the case .Women are now being heard and not pushed aside in what has previously been perceived as a man’s world. After all Jame’s Brown did sing:” it is a man’s world, but it wouldn’t be nothing without a woman or a girl”. In the work place women are now being placed in the roles that men would have previously been put in. More importantly the role of stay at home mum is changing to the father now staying at home. I always remember my secondary school project, as I am never satisfied with a boring subject to study. I chose to produce art work on  the suffragettes. Emmeline Pankhurst was the Leader of this group and she was a political activist in Britain, She enabled women to vote. Limited rights to vote were gained by some women in Sweden, Britain,and some Western U.S States in 1860. Margaret Chan is another women that has done great things for her country. She is one of the most important international health officials who was at the frontline for the global fight against swine flu, sars and bird flu. These are very different women but all ultimately share the same goal they stand up for women and promote women in a strong way,but also they are humanitarian and look out for the well-being of others. I most importantly admire my mother she was a single mum who looked out for my sisters and I she always worked very hard to provide for my sisters and I, and to me she epitomizes a strong woman. Pictured below Emelline Pankhurst.

Leave a Reply

